Posted by Shelly Anibas on July 8, 2014
The first step in deleting or changing roes or permissions in NAV 2013 and NAV 2009 is to be sure you are working at the User level (Windows Logins) and not at the Main list of NAV Roles. If you delete a role from the wrong spot you could delete it from NAV completely. So make sure you are inside a specific user’s list of roles before you delete or modify a role – unless you want it to be a universal change.
I’ve included a picture of what the User Roles look like so you’ll know it when you see it!
Step 1 – Go to the Departments or Classic Client.
Step 2 – Select Tools, Security, Windows Logins
Step 3 – Find the User you want to make changes for and select their name. (Their name will be highlighted.)
Step 4 – Click on the Roles button. This will bring up a list of the Roles assigned to the User you have selected.
Step 5 – Select the Role you want to delete. And click the Delete button. In this example I want to delete the INVT-BOM JNL, POST role.
You can see the INVT-BOM JNL, POST role has been removed for this User.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you drill in on the roles in NAV (see picture below) — and if you are a Super User — if you delete a Role it will be removed from the entire system. If that happens none of the Users assigned that role won’t be able to access the system.